Dec 8, 2022

SDF Sponsors 20th Anniversary Diversity Scholarship Foundation’s Unity Award Gala & Swearing-In Of Bar Presidents

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck LLP proudly supported the 20th anniversary Unity Award Gala and Swearing-In of Bar Presidents ceremony hosted by the Diversity Scholarship Foundation on December 6, 2022. The fundraiser event established by Justice Jesse Reyes celebrates leaders in the legal community who help promote diversity and inclusion. Each year, the Foundation provides scholarships and opportunities to commendable law students of diverse backgrounds in the State of Illinois. Congratulations to this year’s 22 deserving scholarship recipients.

As part of the celebration dinner, the Foundation honored several notable members of the legal community for their devotion as advocates for diversity and inclusion:

Advocates for Diversity

              H. Patrick Morris

              Hon. Matthew W. Jannusch

              Vivian R. Khalaf

              Manish K. Mehta

              David W. Inlander

              Angel M. Traub

Unity Award

              Illinois Supreme Court Justice Mary Jane Theis

Justice Laura Liu Access to Justice Award

              Hon. Patricia Holmes (Ret.)

President's Award

              Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White

A special congratulations to Partner Adam Zebelian who was sworn in as President of LAGBAC (LGBTQ+ Bar Association of Chicago), which is one of the largest and most well-respected LGBTQ bar organizations in the country. A recipient of the Advocate for Diversity award in 2021, Adam has worked tirelessly to raise awareness and influence positive change for the LGBTQ community. A former prosecutor for the Cook County Stat’ Attorney, Adam is also passionate about helping survivors of domestic violence. Adam has served on the planning committee for the Unity Award gala for several years. To learn more about his practice, visit here.

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck attorneys Reed Chisenhall, Timothy Daw, Dillon O’Toole, Christina Perez-Tineo, Ricardo Santiago, Joshua Shancer, Brianna Steger Ambre, and Anita Ventrelli attended the event in support of the noteworthy cause.

The Diversity Scholarship Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that prides itself on providing scholarships to diverse and deserving law students. The organization offers free continuing legal education seminars on a wide range of topics. Learn more here.

News and Insights

Looking for a firm that knows Family Law, inside and out? We're ready to listen.