Dec 11, 2020

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck Sponsors Diversity Scholarship Foundation Unity Award Gala

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck LLP is pleased to announce that the firm was a proud sponsor of this year’s virtual Unity Award Gala & 18th Swearing-In of Bar Presidents ceremony hosted by the Diversity Scholarship Foundation, NFP and Justice Jesse G. Reyes on December 8, 2020. This annual event serves as the main fundraiser for scholarships and opportunities provided to deserving law students of diverse backgrounds.

Out of nearly 80 applicants, 21 law students from across the state of Illinois received scholarships this year. Congratulations to all of the recipients. View the complete list here.

The celebration dinner honored several leaders in law for their efforts in promoting diversity and inclusion:

Unity Award Honoree

Hon. Thomas L. Kilbride, Justice, Illinois Supreme Court

Hon. Laura Liu Access to Justice Award

Hon. Anne M. Burke, Chief Justice, Illinois Supreme Court

Advocates for Diversity

Pamela Sakowicz Menaker

Alejandro Menchaca

Hon. Lewis Nixon, Supervising Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County

Jill Rose Quinn, Judge Elect

Hon. Rouy Shalabi, Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County

Abigail Sue, Secretary, Diversity Scholarship Foundation, NFP

Cook County Chief Judge Timothy C. Evans officiated the “Oath of Unity” pledge for the swearing-in ceremony of bar presidents across the Seventh Circuit. Those who take the pledge commit to promoting diversity and inclusion within the legal profession.

Schiller DuCanto & Fleck attorney Adam Zebelian serves on the planning committee for the annual Unity Award Gala and plays an active role in raising awareness and impacting change for the LGBTQ community, as well as domestic violence survivors. Earlier this year, Adam was elected to serve as the Vice President of the Lesbian and Gay Bar Association of Chicago (LAGBAC), which is one of the largest and most well-respected LGBTQ bar organizations in the country. Firm attorneys Kimberly Cook, Jay Dahlin, Timothy Daw, Chimene Granados, Meighan Harmon, Michele Jochner, Ishita Saran and Anita Ventrelli joined Adam for the virtual event in support of this noteworthy cause.

The Diversity Scholarship Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that prides itself on providing scholarships to diverse and deserving law students. Additionally, the organization offers free continuing legal education seminars (CLEs) on a wide range of topics. To learn more, visit here.

News and Insights

Looking for a firm that knows Family Law, inside and out? We're ready to listen.